Hearing and Vision

The Vision and Hearing Screening Program, Texas Health and Safety Code requires that all children enrolled for the first time in any public, private, parochial, or denominational school or in a Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) licensed child care center and licensed child care home in Texas, or who meet certain grade criteria (specified below), must be screened or have a professional examination for possible vision and hearing problems.

The requirements for vision and hearing screening apply each year for children enrolled in any licensed child care center and licensed child care home or school program at the ages or grades listed below:

Who Must Be Screened
When Screening Must Be Done
  • 4-years-old by September 1 
  • Kindergartners
  • Any other first-time entrants
    (4 years* through 12th grade)
Within 120 days of admission
1st, 3rd, 5th and 7th graders
Anytime within the school year
(preferably within first semester)

*Although not required by Chapter 36, Department of Family and Protective Services licensed child care center and licensed child care home are encouraged to screen all children younger than 4 years of age who can reliably respond to the screening tests outlined in the Department of State Health Service's vision and hearing screening protocols.